LSD Gummies

$75.00$250.00

The success of gummi bears has spawned the production of many other gummy candies that look like animals and other objects: rings, worms, frogs, snakes, hamburgers, cherries, sharks, penguins, hippos, lobsters, octopuses, apples, peaches, oranges, and even AmpelmännchenSmurfs, and spiders. Manufacturers offer sizes from the standard candy size, and smaller, to bears that weigh several kilograms.[2]

In the United States, Haribo gummy bears are sold in five flavors: raspberry (red); orange (orange); strawberry (green); pineapple (colorless); and lemon (yellow).[3] Trolli’s bears are similarly most often sold in five flavors in the United States, and in the same colors; however, Trolli’s red bear is strawberry-flavored, while the green is lime and the colorless is grape.[4] Many companies emulate either Haribo or Trolli flavor-color combinations. Health-oriented brands, which often use all-natural flavors, sometimes opt for more and different flavors. For example, the boxed bulk gummis sold by Sunflower/Newflower Markets include grape, pineapple-coconut, and peach, among others.

Ingredients and production

Vending machine for kosher gummy bears at the cafeteria of the Jewish Museum Berlin

The traditional gummy bear is made from a mixture of sugarglucose syrupstarchflavoringfood coloringcitric acid, and gelatin. However, recipes vary, such as organic candy, those suitable for vegetarians, or those following religious dietary laws.

Production uses a specialized machine called a starch mogul. The image of the gummy bear is stamped into a tray filled with powdered starch. The hot, liquid mixture is poured into the indentations in the starch and allowed to cool overnight. Once the mixture has set, the candies can be removed from the mold and packaged.[5] The molds are open on top, so only the bear’s front is formed while the back remains flat. The original design for each type of candy is carved into plaster by an artist, then duplicated by a machine and used to create the starch molds for the production line.[5]

Gummy bears made with bovine, porcine or piscine gelatin are not suitable for vegetarians and vegans. Those with porcine gelatin or from animals not slaughtered in either of the two contradictory ritualistic fashions do not conform to kashrut or halal dietary laws. In its factory in Turkey, Haribo produces halal bears and other sweets which are made with bovine gelatin.[3] Also, some gummy bears are made with pectin or starch instead of gelatin, making them suitable for vegetarians.

Large sour gummy bears are larger and flatter than regular ones, have a softer texture, and include fumaric acid or other acid ingredients to produce a sour flavor. Some manufacturers produce sour bears with a different texture, based on starch instead of gelatin. Typically, starch produces a shorter (cleaner bite, less chewy) texture than gelatin.

Clear